We think it would be useful to be able to see empty locations when you create a new item. That way you don't have to physically check which location is empty in the device.
When you are assigning an item to a location there is an option to show only free locations in the device.
There is also a setting in Administration/system/storage (my portal is in Swedish so it might be a bit error). "show occupied locations while assigning". Uncheck this and it will only show free locations